Free EMR Newsletter Want to receive the latest news on EMR, Meaningful Use, ARRA and Healthcare IT sent straight to your email? Join thousands of healthcare pros who subscribe to EMR and HIPAA for FREE!!

Levi and the Tour de Suisse

Posted on: June 19, 2011 I Written By

Wow. Talk about an amazing performance. Levi Leipheimer was able to close a 2 minute gap on Damino Cunego to take the overall in the Tour de Suisse today. Somebody’s ready for the Tour de France!

Meanwhile, Fabian Cancellara took the stage win just ahead of Andreas Kolden wrapping up the Tour de Suisse.

Stage result:

1 Fabian Cancellara Leopard Trek 0:41:01
2 Andreas Klöden Team RadioShack 0:00:09
3 Levi Leipheimer Team RadioShack 0:00:13
4 Nelson Oliveira Team RadioShack 0:00:25
5 Tom Danielson Team Garmin-Cervelo 0:00:38
6 Gustav Larsson Saxo Bank Sungard 0:00:41
7 Jakob Fuglsang Leopard Trek 0:00:44
8 Thomas De Gendt Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team 0:00:48
9 Chris Froome Sky Procycling 0:01:02
10 Christian Vande Velde Team Garmin-Cervelo 0:01:04

Final overall standings

1 Levi Leipheimer Team RadioShack 31:45:02
2 Damiano Cunego Lampre – ISD 0:00:04
3 Steven Kruijswijk Rabobank Cycling Team 0:01:02
4 Jakob Fuglsang Leopard Trek 0:01:10
5 Bauke Mollema Rabobank Cycling Team 0:02:05
6 Mathias Frank BMC Racing Team 0:02:24
7 Frank Schleck Leopard Trek 0:02:35
8 Laurens Ten Dam Rabobank Cycling Team 0:03:11
9 Tom Danielson Team Garmin-Cervelo 0:03:17
10 Maxime Monfort Leopard Trek 0:04:12

Cobbled Classics

Posted on: April 17, 2011 I Written By

Now that the Cobbled Classics are over, lets take a look at all the results.

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad- This classic came down to Juan Antonio Flecha and Sebatian Langaveld. The two sprinted and Langaveld took the win for Rabobank.

Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne- This classic came down to a field sprint which was taken by Team Sky’s Christopher Sutton.

Dwars door Vlaanderen- Nick Nuyens of Saxo Bank-SunGard won Dwars door in a solo break.

E3 Prijs Vlaanderen – Harelbeke-  Fabian Cancellara of Leopard Trek won E3 Prijs with a massive attack which put a minute into Jurgen Roelandts, who finished second.

Gent–Wevelgem- Gent-Wevelgem came down to a field sprint which was won by “Tornado” Tom Boonen of Quickstep.

Tour of Flanders- The Ronde van Vlaandere was won after a long day by Nick Nuyens who was just able to outsprint Sylvain Chavanel of Quickstep and Fabian Cancellara.

Scheldeprijs- This semi-classic was won in a field sprint by the fastest man on two wheels, Mark Cavendish of HTC Highroad.

Paris- Roubaix- The big one. The Queen of the Classics was won after a long breakaway by Johan Vansummeren of Garmin- Cervelo.

This season was very excited throughout the classics season and next year should be even better.